Gearing Up

To all of you gearing up for the Rodes City 10k tomorrow, good luck!

In Louisville, KY spring time means, “Talk Derby to me,”  and the Triple Crown of running.  The Triple Crown consist of 3 road races (5k, 10k, 10 miler) leading up to the Mini and Full Derby Marathon.  The Triple Crown has grown tremendously in the past couple of years.

Over 10,000 runners come together at each race, many of them are young children.  My heart smiles every time I see a child running.  During the Anthem 5k (the kick off race) the girl I help pace and I ran along side many kids.  Two young boys stand out to me.  The first young man we came upon was running with his father.  While running his father was sharing words of encouragement with him.  This boy ran with amazing ease, little bouncing, high knees, and no twisting at the hips.  He was a natural.  As we began to pass him, I congratulated him for participating so early in the morning on a Saturday when all his friends were a sleep.  As he smiled ear to ear I saw a mouth full of braces and a heart full of  determination.   The second boy we encountered was wearing an over-sized green YMCA long sleeve shirt.  He had his arms tucked inside to stay warm.  Judging by his awkward body proportions I assume he was close to 13 years old.  He turned his head slightly to catch a glimpse of  Sara and myself.  He gave a slight dirty look and picked up his pace.  Sara and I stayed close to him as he’d speed up and slow down.  After a while his breathing became labored and he could no longer out pace us.  He was angry two girls were passing him.  His pride and ego got in the way.  I did not turn around to see the defeat on his face, but I could feel as we took a few steps in front of him.  Sarah and I both laughed at his competitive nature.  I have a feeling he will go far in life.

Tomorrow is the second leg of the Triple Crown (10k).  I have vowed never to drive to the start of a race if it is within 12 miles of my home.  My 10k will easily turn into a 14+ mile run.  I enjoy jogging to the start.  The roads are clear and it is calming.  The first few times I tried using my legs as transportation I thought I would fatigue my body and not race well.  I was wrong, the opposite happened.  I ran relaxed and steady.  It felt better than ever before.  I was warmed up, calm, and my mind was clear.  I was focused on enjoying the race.

I am excited to find out what adventure tomorrow will offer.  I can’t wait to see all the kids running, hear the music at the start, and see the faces which stand a long side the streets to offer inspiration to all participants.  I look forward to the early dark morning, the silence of my home, the taste of my oatmeal, the smell of coffee brewing and lacing up my shoes, it is almost race day (the equivalent to Christmas).

Hydrate, rest and enjoy every moment!  When it gets tough just tell yourself, “All I have to do is put one foot in front of the other and soon it will be over!”  See you all in the a.m. good luck!

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

