A Great Support System

“My feeling is that any day I am too busy to run is a day that I am too busy.”  -John Bryant

Before I had a family, I had all the time in the world.  I went to work and then the park or gym.  I would spend at least 2 hours plus a night working out.  I had nothing else to do.  After sitting a full day in an office the last thing I wanted to do was go home and sit some more.  It felt good to be on my feet.  With marriage and the birth of a child things change.  Pregnancy put my body through the ringer.  I had to rebuild every muscle in my body along with endurance.  Everything I had worked so hard for in the previous years was gone.  Now guilt followed every time I left the house for a run or workout.  I didn’t want to miss a moment with my daughter or husband.  Would they think I was a selfish mom as time moved foward?

Thank god, for Shane, my husband.  Without him I would not be a runner.  There would be no time nor anyone else I trusted to care for our child.  He takes all the guilt away from me.  He encourages me to run (I think because I am nicer when I come back from a run).  He supports me in a way I never thought possible.  He came as my support system to Columbus during the marathon.  I must mention he ran from spectator spot to spectator spot with my crazy aunt (who I love), my wild mom (who I also love) and our 10 month old daughter strapped to his chest.  That was love, devotion, and dedication right there.  He never complained yet embraced the situation.  Shane cheered me on as I qualified for Boston.  He was the first face I saw in the crowd as I finished.  He was so cute yelling through the gate how proud he was of me all the while our daughter in the euro rider on his chest.  He handed her over the gate to me and we had my finishing photo taken together.  This memory will never fade in my mind.  I tear up ever time I think about this small moment.  He made sure I saw them when I finished because he knew how important Boston was for me.  What a unique experience in my life! It is hard to put into words the dedication my husband has towards myself and our family.  He helps with daily house chores (mainly so he doesn’t have to hear me complain), he stays calm when I am upset and he always says the right thing (even when I tell him, he doesn’t understand).  He is perfect to me.  I don’t give him enough credit most days but without him I would not be where I am today.  Shane is a very hands on father and can handle our head strong daughter better than I can.  He is playful and always loving, I am one lucky gal.  Running is an individual sport but once you have a family it becomes a team effort.  I need Shane in my life to take runs, help me mentally during long runs and alleviate the guilt from parting with my family to indulge in my sport.

By the way my husband is an Ironman?!  I have no clue how we are both able to get our works out in but some how we manage.  I have met my perfect match, when no one else seems to understand me he always does.  He is truly my rock and my number 1 fan.  Thank you Shane for allowing me to be a wife, mother and runner!  I love you.

“Two peas in a pod.”

Shane, Sloane and my aunt cheering me on during my road to Boston (Columbus Marathon 2010)!

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Great Support System

  1. ashley meadows says:

    aw, I loved reading this. It is very nice to see credit given when it is due. = ) Shane is a pretty awesome person. It also helps remind me never to take my own support system for granted. You and I both hit the jack pot my friend. It is so nice to have someone be there for you to share in your enthusiasm the day of a race, even if they don’t understand how you can love it so much. It is a very special and important thing. When all else fails you mentally during a run, knowing you have a loving face that supports you and is your biggest fan no matter what waiting for you drives you to the finish.

  2. I thought you would like this post after our talk last night. I started working on it a few nights ago when Sloane got sick. There are many Chapters in my life and Shane is the most positive one!

Leave a Reply

