My Next Adventure

With Boston approaching (only 27 days, but who’s counting) I find myself thinking, “What’s next.”

When I began training for Boston I thought it would be my last marathon.  Training is extremely time consuming with work and a family.  I felt as if I was missing too much time at home.  Plus the wear and tare of running has caught up with my body.  However, something happened during my training, I began reading Dean Karnazes’s books.  He has convinced me I can run around the world a million times without stopping. I have finished all 3 of his books and I feel more prepared for any race I have ever ran.  I use to think qualifying for Boston was like qualifying for the Olympics for “normal” people.  Now I realize Boston is just the beginning.  I have spent the last couple of years working on form and speed.  Now it is time to focus on distance, lots and lots of distance.  The wheels in my head began to turn.  Why not run 2 marathons in less than 2 weeks and maybe 2 weeks later run an ultra (50 miles)?

I know what to expect when running a marathon.  They are individually tough but relatively the same.  An ultra is uncharted territory.  How would my body and mind handle 2 marathons and an ultra so close together?  I have not made my final decision whether or not I will compete in the ultra.  I guess I will go back and worth for the next few weeks.  In the back of my mind I know my husband and I are planning to grow our family in the fall.  Once I am pregnant there will be little to no running the next year and a half.  If an ultra is in my future it is now or never.  Who knows if the 50 miler goes well maybe I will go for 100!

Thank you Dean for keeping my on my feet and believing anything is possible when everyone says it is not.

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

