Grrrr, the doctor is needed!

Know when enough is enough.  For most dedicated runners this is tough to acknowledge.  Four days ago during a routine training run, my lower right calve began to ache.  I thought nothing of it, there is always some form of ache somewhere in my body when I am running 40+ miles a week.  The following day I went out to run again and this time the pain was dull and numbing.  It was almost unbearable certain ways my foot would strike the ground.  After 4 miles I found myself walking.  I never walk!  I couldn’t believe this close to Boston something was going wrong.  My body was telling me no and my heart was telling me to run through it.  After about 3 minutes of walking I began running again.  I had to cut my training run 3 miles short.  Once more I went out for a third run hoping my calve would no longer be full of dull pain.  Sure enough the pain was in full effect.  I had no choice but to continue running, I was leading a group run.  I sucked it up and made 7 miles.  When I returned home I immediately RICEd (rest-ice-compress-elevate).  I’ve never had the pleasure of experiencing shin splints or fractures due to overuse or improper shoes.  Others I have spoke with describe shin splints as a dull achy pain.  I rarely do this but I called my PT for advice.  I am too close and well trained not to make it to Boston.  My PT used a technique I have heard of many times in diagnosing hair line fractures, it involves a tuning fork.  He hit the fork against his hand and then held it to different areas on my leg.  There was no pain.  If I had a fracture or shin splints I would have jumped off the table in discomfort.  His diagnose is a strain.  I was told no running over the next 5 days.  I have never listen to a doctor when he/she has told me not to run.  I normally leave their office, drive straight to the park and run.  “Why do I pay doctors to tell me what I know I should be doing and then not listen to them?”  What a waste of money on my part!  Today I listened for the first time in 29 years. I registered for a cycling class. I plan to cycle the next 5 days in order to keep my cardiovascular system up to par.  Cycling will take the pressure off my leg and still provide me with one hell of a workout.

Knowing when to rest is tough for us running.  Listen to your body and don’t ignore discomfort.  I would mush rather forgo the next couple of days not running to be able to kick ass in Boston.  Today I received my race packet, it reminded me why I am resting, icing, compressing and elevating now.  I know by taking care of myself I am going to have one hell of a race and an experience that I will care with me for the rest of my life!  22 days and counting!

Still at packet pick-up knowing I was not running. To my best running buddies, you kicked ass today! Sorry I wasn't there

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

