I am so elated I could poo!

“All it takes is all you got.” – Marc Davis

I cannot wait for the arrival of Saturday.  I have not slept well this week due to the Boston anticipation.  I woke up at 3AM last night to find myself soaking wet.  I looked as if I had just gotten out of the shower.  My nerves are getting the best of me.  Some say this is a good sign but I don’t feel like it is.  The excitement I am feeling is not only effecting my sleep but my work, recovery, eating habits (it’s hard to eat), and thoughts.  I normally get this feeling the night before a race but not 5 days in advance.  I am still in Kentucky!  I can’t image how I am going to be on the plane, at the expo and the few hours leading up to the race.  I keep replaying the image of crossing the finish line in my head (it’s one of the most breathe taking images I have ever had).  Every fiber in my body is focused on Boston.  I think I am driving my husband mad, because all I can do is talk about it.  I have even called him at work to vent about my enthusiasm.  He just laughs at me and listens (thank you Shane for allowing me to be crazy and not judging me).  I still do not completely understand all the hype behind Boston.  Yes it’s the oldest race, yes I had to qualify to run, and yes Runner’s World dedicates a huge section to it.  I guess it is the hard work and dedication it takes to qualify and then maintaining one’s endurance ability until the marathon.  Runner’s World chalks it up to social media and “bucket lists.”  Research has shown a dramatic increase in women’s running at the age of 40 and upwards.  The article suggests individuals want to qualify for Boston because their children are grown and they finally have time to be selfish.  The feeling of qualifying provides control and self worth.  I agree with the article and found it to be a great read leading up to the big race (check out Runner’s World May 2011).  The social media aspect is one I had not thought about before.  Take me for example; my blog has been about me and my road to Boston.  I am prompting the race to fellow readers in a realistic way.  I am an average every day runner which makes Boston obtainable to the average person who believes in discipline and determination.   A few individuals who have read my blog may now be thinking about qualifying for Boston.  I am one of a million bloggers who discuss running.  Think about all the non-runners, walkers, joggers who are now thinking about their first marathon or adding, “Qualify for Boston,” to their bucket list.  Social media is driving the increase of road race participation (who needs marketers and salesmen when we have social media). 

Controversy has swarmed Boston 2011 because of registration closing within 8 hours and runners being able to buy their way in (5,000 of them raised LOTS of $$$ for charitable partners).  Those who have dedicated years to qualifying for the big race were shut out leaving them feeling inadequate and without control.  With all the debate and disappointment the BAA has increased qualifying times by 5:00 minutes for each age/gender group and has integrated an application process.   The race staff is trying to make Boston more elite.  Each year the qualifying number continues to rise.  They are not trying to shut people out but reward the truly determined.  At this point I don’t care what the BAA chooses to do in the future because I was one of the few lucky ones who got in after hours of being kicked off line.  I filled out the Boston registration form over 100 times (I was late to work because I was not going to leave my computer without completing my registration).  After 2 hours I was in!  The feeling was equivalent to qualifying.  I can’t image qualifying and then not getting in.  I would have been devastated.  My heart goes out to all those who did their part and will not be able to race in Boston. 

I am open for suggestions regarding race day and how to calm my nerves.  If you have any secret family remedies please let me know.  I have a feeling I will continue to grow more energized with each day leading up to April 18, 2011.  I am so elated I could poo!  Here’s to 5 days and counting!

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

