No Rest for the Weary

“Ability is what you are capable of doing.
Motivation determines what you do.
Attitude determines how well you do it.”
– Lou Holtz

Last night I returned to the “thing” I love, running (no rest for the weary).  My husband and I ran from our house to Fleet Feet to join the Wednesday night group run.  The usual crowd was there.  The few people I run with welcomed me by congratulating me on my first Boston.  As I headed back to the bathroom the owner of the store yelled my name.  He processed to tell everyone I had completed Boston.  On moment later they all cheered and clapped for me.  It was nice to have so many individuals say congrats but at the same time I do not like attention (I hated my baby showers because people were looking at me.  I like to blend in).  I blushed terribly and darted for the bathroom.  I am not the type to wear my medal the rest of the day post race and on into the following day after competing.  I rarely wear the swag too close to the race either.  I understand why people like to though.  For me personally, I like keeping it a secret.  It is fun for me to see others and think, “They have no idea what I have just done.”  I did wear my Boston Marathon jacket around Boston leading up to the race.  It was neat because all the other runners wore their jackets too.  We could give a head nod or a, “Nice work,” to each other.  There was no guessing in Boston who ran and who did not.  A couple of the people I pace with commented on the fact I was wearing a Philadelphia Marathon tech shirt from 2006 and not a Boston shirt (I did have on my Boston logo shorts because my Nike shorts weren’t dry).  I laughed and pointed to my shorts.  My first Boston moment had come and gone.  I have a few apparel items, coffee mug, medal, and photographs to remind me of the greatest running experience I have ever had.  It is time to focus on the KY Derby Marathon, only 8 days away.

As we began running into the hilly parks of Louisville my legs grew heavy and tired within the first half of a mile.  I was not experiencing pain just heavy legs (everyone who runs knows what I am talking about).  It is an awful feeling.  I felt like I was picking my feet up as high as I could but they were only going a few inches off the ground.  Our group ran off in front of us as Shane and I stayed back at an 8:24 pace.  Overall I felt good, just tired and fatigued.  It was nice running next to my husband.  He and I were able to talk about things, nothing important.  We spoke a little about the Ironman and his plan to start training more intensely, our daughter, our trip to Boston, work and life.  I am blessed to have found my perfect match.  He understands and accepts me in a way I did not think was possible (as he says, “We are two peas in a pod”). 

Our group waited for us to catch up at the end of our run.  We gave each other high-fives and congratulated everyone on a good run.  The men and women I run with every Wednesday and Saturday are remarkable people.  They are supportive and cheerful most days.  Running is a great way to get to know someone.  You are with each other when times get tough and when times are magnificent.  When one of us is down the other one picks us up.  We never allow each other to quit.  I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know everyone in our group over the past few months.  It is a mix of men and women ages 23 to mid 40’s.  We have a movie buff who always suggest great movies each week, the smart college grad student who is witty, a young girl who is always positive (and very speedy), and of course the funny guy who always like to have a good time.  Everyone adds a little something different to our runs.  I must say, “Thank you,” to our little group for helping me on my road to Boston, you made the long runs not seem so long! 

8 more ‘til my next marathon…..

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

