Renewed

“It hurts up to a point and then it doesn’t get any worse.”  –  Ann Trason

I can finally touch my toes!  The last couple of days I have been moving like a feeble person and experienced disturbed sleep.  Something wonderful happened yesterday, I was able to see Dr. Kyle Bowling.  He helped me tremendously on the road to Boston and now he is aiding in my recovery.  The most intriguing thing about his practice is his ability to help patients recover and maintain health long enough not to repetitively return.  Most businesses survive on returning patients (however, if the patient returns often he would not be doing his job).  He implements a variety of techniques to help remove scar tissue and improve range of motion (ROM).   I am walking proof that seeking treatment can change how your body feels within one day.  For the first time in 5 days I can run up a set of stairs (I have to climb a flight of stairs every day to my office).  On Monday I was winded when I reached the top leaving little strength to open the door (this continued through the week).  Today I jogged up the stairs with little pain/soreness in my legs (awe, what a refreshing moment).  I am not 100% but I am now on my way.  Most runners (me included) are use to feeling sore and tired so often we never seek treatment.   What’s the point if I am going to go pound the road again and again? 

I have learned when I am healthy I have my best runs, no heavy legs or exhaustion involved.  Before I started treatment I was conditioned to run through any and all pain (isn’t that part of running).  Once I was introduced to Dr. Bowling through Derby City Crossfit my mind set on running changed.  He taught me to care for my well being through education.  He provided certain exercises to strengthen my hip flexors, IT bands, and knees.  He’s advice has paid off (after all I had a PR on one of the toughest marathon courses in America).  There is no reason for any athlete to perform in pain.  There are options to help you stay in tip-top shape; you just have to find what works for you.  I want to continue to run on into my 80”s, 90’s, 100’s (if I live that long).  I know in order to do so I must take care of my soft tissues and joints.  I am still stubborn but I am learning slowly when to take it easy.

I am cleared to run this Monday and I wasn’t sure I was going to be capable of doing so until today.  Through the help of Kentucky Sports Chiropractics I know I will heal and continue to run as much as I possibly can.  Thank you (Dr. Bowling) for allowing me to do what I love.

Happy running!

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

