A Leave of Absence

It’s been a while since I last took a complete week off from any form of exercise, until my doctor ordered it.  Last week was wonderful; I spent QT time with my family and enjoyed the Derby (mint juleps and all).  Thinking of Derby reminds me of Wedding Crashers:  What’s your favorite time of year Christmas or DERBY season?  Oooo pick me!  Derby season!  My hiatus came at the perfect moment.   My husband and I were able to go on a few dates and even drink together (something we rarely do).  Since the birth of my daughter I have not been able to relax when I am away from her until recently.  I was able to enjoy all the Derby festivities without constantly thinking of her.  I let loose and trusted she was okay without feeling guilty.  I have never bet the ponies but I thought What the hell this year.  The first horse I bet on was Sassy Image (because it reminded me of my daughter, of course) and I won $50.20 (I made note of this in her baby book)!  I have never won, this was a big moment.  Normally I do not like to bet because I’d rather put the money towards tangible items (such as shoes).  However, I was ready to let me hair down.  I continued to bet and throw back the good’ ol mix of bourbon, mint, water, and sugar.  I was me again (something I have not been in a very long time).  I was care free and goofy.  Although my husband would never admit it, I think he was secretly ecstatic to have the girl he dated in college back.  Having a child changes everything about a women’s demeanor and personality (maybe not everyone, but some of us).  Don’t get me wrong being a mom is the best thing that has ever happened to me (after all my kid is awesome) but it has made me up tight and full of worry.  It is nice to part ways with her and not feel the guilt that use to come with it.  Slowly but surely things are getting back to normal (whatever the hell normal is).

My husband did a wonderful job reminding me of what a wonderful mother I have become by making me a book.  He titled it, “Mommy and Me the First 16 Months,” By Sloane.  My heart melted as tears filled my eyes as I flipped through the pages.  It was neat to see the pictures he picked out and place accordingly throughout the book.  He wrote little sweet captions under each photograph.  He used Shutterfly to bring his unique idea to life.  It made me feel wanted and loved that he would take the time to make such a personal gift.  At times I question if I am making the right decisions for my daughter, Shane let me know I am by presenting me with my mother’s day gift.  It is priceless to me.  It was a great way to end my week off.  I value every moment spent with both Shane and Sloane (even the bad ones that end in sleepless nights).      

Now that my favorite time of year has come and gone, I am back to the running grind.  I started training for the Indy marathon (November 5, 2011) on Monday.   My body is feeling much better but it is not 100%.  My normal base pace is 8:30 and the last 2 days it has been closer to 9:15.  My legs are still fatigued from the Boston and Derby marathons (I am sure the mint juleps did not aid in my recovery).  I am confident with time my body will gradually return to its ordinary self.  To quote Marshall Ulrich, “I can feel my body turning into a running machine.”  As this process takes place it will bring pain, discomfort and fatigue 100% guaranteed (I have been reading too many Dr. Seuss books lately).  I am approaching training differently this time around (focused on hill repeats and intervals).  I am determined to hit 3:27 or less (I would love to be under 3:20, but I am taking baby steps).  I want to secure my spot in Boston 2013 (I will have to miss 2012 because we are planning another love child).  I would also like to run NY City by qualifying (3:23 marathon or 1:37 half marathon).  I would never buy my way into a race (I am thankful for those who do because they keep the road races alive).  I have too much pride to not at least try for a goal time. 

Here’s to the next 179 days leading up to the Indy Marathon!

 Training log:

5 minute Dynamic Warm-Up

Morning Base Run 4 miles

Drills – 20 seconds run with no arms & 20 seconds 1 leg hop

Evening 30 minute recovery run @ recovery pace

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment