Do it!

“Tough times don’t last but tough people do.”  –  A.C. Green

Over the past 6 years I have ran many marathons and countless road races.  I have continued to PR but for some reason it’s not as satisfying as it once was.  After Boston I began searching for my next great adventure.  Initially I wanted to run the Indy marathon in hopes to PR with a finishing time of 3:20 or better.  However, I wasn’t excited about pounding the pavement for the following 4 months.  I recently began trail running which rarely leaves me in pain (much different than road running).  When I am on the trails I am not concerned with pace or miles.  Instead I am engulfed by the beauty of nature.  I do not have to be on the lookout for cars trying to run me over or people hogging the sidewalks.  It’s just me and the sound of the great outdoors.  Why in the world would I want to run another road race when I can run the trails and save my legs? 

My plans for the fall changed, dramatically.  My husband and I are venturing down to Atlanta, GA for the North Face Endurance Challenge, a 50 mile run on October 15th.  I have called on local ultra marathoners for advice.  All of them have offered the same pointers; run back to back long runs every Saturday and Sunday, don’t care about your pace, pack dry socks and shoes, run with real food not just gels, drink lots of water, if they offer a chair don’t sit (you may never get up again) and have a good damn time.  They all said it is easier to recover from an ultra than a marathon; due to the effort exerted and the terrain.  Over the course of 50 miles I do not plan on going all out (like I do during a marathon).  I plan to enjoy the experience and the opportunity to run 50 miles.  We were built to run but our lives have become stationary.  I welcome the chance to run free and see what my feet are made of.   

Today do something different!  Happy running!

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

