On the Move for Two

“If what you did yesterday still looks big to you, you haven’t done much today.” – Wid Matthews, Chicago Cubs

Last year was full of accomplishments, I never thought possible.  In December 2009 we welcomed our first born, a perfect baby girl (labor was the biggest endurance event I have ever been apart of).  Most of my friends have been determined to be the perfect mom after giving birth.  Not me, I wanted to be a better athlete, which in return would make me a better mother, wife, and trainer.  As mom, I need to feel good about myself.  I lost so much of who I was in my daughter.  It was imperative for me to feel confidant about me once again.  Most might think I took an extreme approach in feeling better about myself.  I was determined to qualify for Boston, run Boston, complete two marathons within two weeks of each other, and attempt a 50 mile race.  I did just that and I did feel like myself once more.  It was one of the best years of my life.  I learned a lot about parenting, who I was, training programs, and nutrition.

Now I am focusing on baby number two, who will join our family September 2012.  I am beyond excited to see what life has to bring with two children, coaching, and training.  I envision a lot of coffee and very little sleep (but I know it will all be worth it).  I have began mapping out my race schedule for 2013 and on into 2014 (yes, my husband thinks I am out of my mind.  However, he always supports me and my crazy adventures).  My goals are another 50 miler, qualifying for the New York City Marathon, Ironman Louisville, and completing the NYC Marathon.  After that, who knows, maybe baby number three and a 100 mile race!

Post 10K, making omelets! - 4 months pregnant

About runnerskickassphalt

I am a normal girl who happens to be a mom, wife, marathon runner, and CrossFit coach. I am constantly looking for my next adventure with my kids, clients and family.
This entry was posted in Mommy and Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

